I know it’s been a while since I posted last, I think it was in the throws of some wicked pain from surgery and most likely I was pretty drugged when I wrote it.  In any case, I’m BACK baby!  For a few minutes anyway.  I have been out of work for almost a month, the first two weeks were pretty rough but now I feel like I should be doing something, and I want to do something, but doctors orders were “even if you think you can, DON’T”  so not back to work for me just yet.  I can at least move with out a considerable amount of pain and that is better than it was before surgery so they must have done something right.

I can’t wait for the day when I don’t have to take pain killers of any kind because my back feels like someone is twisting it until I break in two.  I am also enjoying the fact that my feet are not falling asleep every five seconds, thats wonderful.  So I go back to see the surgeon for the 2nd of three follow up appointments tomorrow and all is looking and feeling well.  My back is healing, I no longer feel like I am going to rip myself open, so that is a plus.  I think it is going to go great and I am hoping to get the go ahead and get back to work.  I obviously won’t be able to lift anything for a while longer but for now I will settle for asking for help and at least getting out of the house and getting paid for it too.

So while I have been home twiddling my thumbs I started thinking about my family history, you know you see all those Ancestry.com commercials,  “I didn’t think anything was going to happen but then I typed in my grandmothers name and a leaf, I got a leaf”.  Yup, that is how they get you, I got sucked in, and its true, after a few times you just can’t wait to see what that little leaf will reveal about your past generations.  So in my little adventure into family history I realized that my dear grandmother was VERY into this sort of thing and that is what she did with all her free time, minus ancestry.com though, which just seems crazy to me now.

So I was asking my mother about some of my history on her side and she mentioned that she had some of grams papers from when she passed.  So after about a week of constantly texting my mother who is VERY new to texting and still writes “Okay” I think she got sick of looking everything up and offered to send me the stuff that she had.  I took her up on the offer and when I went to pick it up it was not just an envelope, or a manilla folder, not a couple of folders or files, it was a whole god damn TOTE of files and folders and even a red floppy disc labeled “Reunion Pictures” I can’t even begin to think about how old that is and I can’t even look at it even if I wanted to, damn you Apple for making such high tech machines.  So after an entire day of looking though endless lists and files, folders and hand written family trees I am spent.  I am so tired, my brain hurts and now its time to say good night to all of this craziness.  Tomorrow I have my appointment, and I get pampered at the salon and then Tuesday we leave for Atlantic City, which is very exciting for me, I’ve never been there but I know I will need my rest.  So I may post some photos from my travels, in the next week or so.

Good night blog world.

